Great Britain finalizes 2014 World Track Cycling Squad

GB has reportedly finalized its squad for the upcoming World Track Cycling 2014. The esteemed championship is to be held at Cali, Colombia, by the end of February- there would be 7 Olympic champions from Great Britain amidst 17 riders.

The Great Britain squad for the Worlds would have its golden couple Laurat Trott & Jason Kenny, along with the elites like Steven Burke, Phillip Hendes, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell & Ed Clancy.

Becky James would be there to defend her 2 titles & she would also spearhead a female sprint group featuring Vicky Williamson & Jess Varnish. The brilliant rider shot to fame a year back with her winning stances at the sprint & Keirin at Minsk world championship in 2013.

Dual Olympic champion Laura Trott would be looking forward to defend her title in team pursuit that she achieved in Belarus. However, the race format has received an alteration now and would be set over 4 kilometers with 4 riders. Katie Archibald has been selected as well and she would be making her debut in the Worlds this time. The red-haired Scottish rider would join up with Rowsell, Dani King, Elinor Barker and Laura Trott in women endurance section.

Trott’s boyfriend Jason Kenny, who is a 3-time Olympic hero as well would be leading the men squad. However, Simon Yates , last year’s worlds point-race winner, won’t be defending the title this time but rather has declared to focus on road career.

GB squad for the Worlds at a glance:
Men’s sprint: Jason Kenny, Matt Crampton, Phil Hindes and Kian Emadi.

Men’s endurance: Ed Clancy, Steven Burke, Owain Doull, Jon Dibben and Sam Harrison.

Women’s sprint: Vicky Williamson, Jess Varnish and Becky James

Women’s endurance: Elinor Barker, Katie Archibald, Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell and Dani King

Share and Enjoy !

0 0